I have written about the idea of putting pressure on the ball instead of trying to hit the ball. Try to get the feeling from the following thoughts by placing the club head against a doorjamb or against a long tee driven deeply into the ground.
• A leaning shaft still has the ability to work. A shaft in line with the right arm and no longer leaning forward has spent its ability to work or apply pressure.
• At impact, the forward lean of the shaft and club head puts pressure down into the ball. You want the feeling of the whole shaft leaning on the ball, not just the club head.
• At impact, a bent right wrist is supporting and putting pressure on the left hand and shaft.
• At impact, a bent right arm is putting pressure on a bent right wrist and supporting the left arm and club.
• At impact, when a bent right elbow is down in front of the right hip, the body is behind the elbow, supporting and applying pressure.
• At impact, when the upper left arm is still on the upper chest, the body is behind the left arm, supporting and applying pressure.
In match play, player A holes out and tell player B, his opponent, that he had four strokes for the hole. Player B, already having played four strokes, picks up his ball. Player A realizes he actually had five strokes. What is the ruling?
Answer to last column's teaser?
A player, after five minutes, couldn't find his ball. It was later discovered that another player hit it. Ruling? It still counts as a lost ball. There, I think, is a rules decision that needs to be revisited and perhaps revised.
John Lucas is the professional at Sky Ridge Golf Course and can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org.